*NOTE: FOR THOSE WHO ARE NOT FREE ON WEEK DAYS, WE OFFER SPLIT CLASSES, HELD ON TWO CONSECUTIVE SATURDAYS:
To sign up for the Nov. 26/Dec. 3, Feb. 25/Mar. 4 or Mar. 25/Apr. 1 classes – Please select the first Saturday on the calendar when registering – this will sign you up for both days.
Provides training as required by the State of Maryland for those wishing to apply for their initial Wear & Carry Permit. Full Course Description below. NOTE: As part of the application process, applicants must also get fingerprinted at a Maryland LiveScan location and be able to pass a background check (not included in this course). We are happy to assist students with submitting their online application and uploading the required documentation. We can also take the required passport photo for you!
$350 WINTER SALE ON NOW — $175 during December & January!
Course Length: 16 Hours (Initial Applicants)
Time: 9:00am – 5:00 pm each day
On Day 2, students should bring a holster and their own firearm, if they have these. Otherwise, use of a .22 cal. pistol and a Sticky Holster will be provided (please wear a belt or pants with a sturdy, somewhat tight waistband). Also for Day 2, please avoid wearing loose-fitting tops and sandals.
Day 1: Classroom Instruction
- Rules for safe firearm handling and use
- Handgun nomenclature and operation
- Handgun action types
- Fundamentals of handgun shooting
- Selection/Maintenance/Storage of a handgun
- Home safety
- Interactions with law enforcement
- Use of lethal force
- “Tactical Mindset” and Situational Awareness
- Overview of MD firearms laws
- Application requirements and process
- Dry and Live-Fire Training:
Use of range facilities and .22 cal. handgun, ammo and target included. Students may use their own firearm if they wish – if other than .22 caliber, ammo not included and must be purchased from range to meet insurance requirements.
- Meet procedural safety requirements
- Demonstrate marksmanship skill (25 rounds at a maximum of 15 yards with 70% accuracy rating to qualify